The St. Thomas the Apostle Parish Council assists the pastor by providing advice on matters the pastor has identified and implementing policies and programs that the pastor has initiated or approved.

In addition to the main body, the parish council includes the Parish Education Committee and Social Action Committtee.

Current Parish Council members are: Anne Boers; George Coppolo; Jo-Anne Cormier; Peter DeHertogh; Carole Donabedian; Teresa Duprey; Joe Fischetti; Dorothy Kerrigan; Todd Navin; Donna Radigan; Jamie Sullivan; Pat Tomasiewicz; John Zinzarella

Education Committee:

Focused on planning and coordinating opportunities for adult religious education through reading the Holy Bible, prayer, mission, retreat and hands-on events (e.g., Advent wreath making) within the parish and in collaboration with other West Hartford Parishes.

Time Commitment: Meets 2 to 4 times per year for 60 to 90 minutes. Contact: George Coppolo

Social Action:

This subcommittee of the Parish Council seeks to serve the temporal needs of people within the parish and beyond. The committee also endeavors to study and implement the social justice teachings of the Catholic Church. Time Committment: Last Wednesday of the Month, 1.5 to 2 hours. Contact: Father Moran


There are two types parish council members:

  1. Elected members who serve a three year term, and
  2. Ex-officio members (clergy, two lay trustees and the immediate past President of the Council).

Additionally, the heads of the various parish ministries and other organizations often attend and participate in parish council meetings.

Meeting Times and Location:

7 pm on the second Monday of each month from September to May in the Parish Center. All are welcome.